Australia’s latest sanctions on Russia


Australia has implemented a range of sanctions against Russia, following Moscow’s deployment of forces to Ukraine.

After a meeting of the national security committee on Wednesday, Prime Minister Scott Morrison said the first tranche of sanctions would be in “lock step” with those implemented by other Western nations such as the US and UK


* Travel bans and sanctions on eight members of Russia’s security council.

* Existing sanctions for the Crimea and Sevastopol region, such as restrictions on imports and exports, will be expanded to include the regions of Luhansk and Donetsk. Russia has recognised Luhansk and Donetsk in Ukraine as independent regions.

* Sanctions will apply to people and entities deemed to have “strategic and economic significance to Russia”.

* Sectors targeted will include transport, energy, telecommunications, oil, gas, and mineral reserves.

* Russian banks to also be targeted through sanctions, following similar moves from Western allies.

* AUSTRAC and major banks have been alerted to look out for suspicious transactions following the sanctions.

* Russia’s ambassador to Australia has been called to a meeting with the secretary of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.


Andrew Brown
(Australian Associated Press)


Like This